Bretheran Churches

United Brethran In Christ

Although  services  had  been  conducted  at Shamokin  by  Rev.  Joseph  Young,  a  clergyman  of  this  denomination,  no organization  was  effected  until  1846,  when,  through  the  efforts  of  Rev.  Samuel Seiders,  a  church  was  formally  organized  with  Jeremiah  Zimmerman.  S. S.  Bird,  George  Krieger,  and  H.  Hagey  as  trustees. 

A  frame  church  edifice was  erected  on  Sunbury  street  in  1848;  it  was  remodeled  and  enlarged  in 1869,  rededicated  on  the  1st  of  August  in  that  year,  and  served  as  the  place of  worship  until  1890,  when  it  was  removed  to  make  way  for  the  new  brick structure  now  approaching  completion.

The  succession  of  pastors  has  been  as  follows: 

  • Samuel  Seiders
  • Jacob  Brewer
  • Joseph  Young
  • Israel  Carpenter 
  • George  Hoffman 
  • George Gilbert 
  • P.  L.  Zimmerman 
  • Wesley  Detrich
  • A.  F.  Yeager
  • John  Swenk
  • G. W.  M.  Rigor
  • G.  A.  Snapp
  • J.  P.  Long
  • G.  A.  Lee 
  • W.  B.  Evers
  • J.  F. Mower
  • J.  R.  Reitzel
  • J.  D.  Kihan
  • George  Brickley 
  • W.  H.  S.  Keys,  D.  D.
  • E.  P.  Funk
  • J.  G.  Stiner
  • Solomon  Merrick
  • E.  W.  Etter,  D.  D. 
  • W.  H. Uhler 
  • M.  J.  Heberly
  • J.  H.  Yonedia 
  • H.  B.  Spayd
  • J.  P.  Cowling

The  Sunday  school  was  organized  in  1861  with  Mahlon  Scholl  as  first superintendent,  and  has  been  successfully  continued  to  the  present  time (1890).