Churches Episcopal

Trinity Episcopal Church

The  first  Episcopal  services  at  Shamokin were  held  in  the  Lutheran  church  in  1854-55  by  Rev.  D.  Washburn,  of Pottsville.  In  the  spring  of  1865  Rev.  Rowland  H.  Brown,  of  Lewisburg, held  Episcopal  services  in  the  Presbyterian  church:  an  organization  was effected  not  long  after  through  the  efforts  of  Reverends  Brown  and  G.  W. Shinn,  of  Philadelphia.  The  latter  became  the  first  rector,  remaining  a  little over  a  year. 

During  the  summer  of  1865  a  contract  was  awarded  J.  B.  Gibson for  the  erection  of  a  church  edifice;  in  the  meantime  services  were  held in  the  Presbyterian  church  and  Central  school  house.  It  was  decided  to erect  a  building  twenty-eight  by  seventy-eight  feet  on  the  lot  presented  by Charles  P.  Helfenstein,  and  the  cornerstone  was  laid,  November  7,  1865,  at which  service  Rev.  G.  W.  Shinn  officiated,  assisted  by  the  Reverends  Brown, Gibson,  and  Allen.  The  building  was  almost  completed  when  it  was  entirely destroyed  by  a  violent  wind  storm:  timbers  were  obtained  from  the  ruins, however,  with  which  a  chapel  was  erected  at  a  cost  of  fifteen  hundred  dollars.

Although  services  had  been  held  and  an  organization  effected  in  1865,  there is  no  record  of  any  communion  until  January,  1866.  On  this  occasion  but five  persons  partook  of  the  sacrament:  Charles  P.  Helfenstein  and  wife, William  A.  Kichardson  and  wife,  and  Mrs.  Abbie  Slocum. 

From  the  early part  of  January,  1866,  until  May  of  the  same  year,  worship  was  held  in  the Central  school  building.  The  first  service  in  the  new  chapel  occurred.  May 11,  1866,  when  the  rite  of  confirmation  was  administered  by  Bishop  Vail,  of Kansas,  to  fifteen  persons.  Mr.  Shinn  resigned  on  the  10th  of  February, 1867,  and  since  that  date  the  succession  of  rectors  has  been  as  follows:  Reverends I.  N.  Spear,  I.  H.  H.  Millett,  F.  M.  Bird,  H.  H.  Boyle,  D.  Washburn, Joseph  Wright,  Samuel  Cheevers,  Wilber  F.  Watkins,  Jr.,  and  John  Graham, the  present  incumbent,  who  assumed  charge  in  March,  1890. 

During  Mr. Cheevers’s  administration  the  chapel  was  enlarged,  a  tower  was  erected,  and a  bell  was  placed  therein.  This  building  was  removed  to  the  southern  part of  the  lot  in  1890,  placed  upon  a  stone  foundation,  and  adapted  to  the  purpose of  a  Sunday  school  room  and  general  ”church  workshop.”  The  erection of  a  handsome  stone  church  edifice  at  the  corner  of  the  lot  was  begun  in  the same  year  and  it  is  now  approaching  completion.