Churches Congregational

The Welsh Congregational Church

The  Welsh  Congregational  Church  was  organized  by  Rev.  Henry  C. Harris:  seven  deacons  were  elected  at  that  time,  but  one  of  whom,  John  W. Thomas,  is  still  an  active  member  of  this  church (1890).  A  hall  on  Sunbury  street was  occupied  for  religious  worship  until  1864,  when  a  frame  church  edifice was  built  on  Rock  street.  The  present  church  building,  a  frame  structure on  Grant  street,  was  erected  in  1870  under  the  supervision  of  a  building committee  composed  of  John  W.  Thomas,  John  Phillips,  and  Henry  Simmons. Since  1875  the  pastors  have  been  Reverends  D.  T.  Davis,  Henry Whitby,  Morris  Hughes,  David  D.  Davis,  and  D.  T.  Davis,  present incumbent.

This  church  originally  included  nearly  the  entire  Welsh  population  of Shamokin.  The  Baptists  and  Methodists  withdrew;  the  former  erected  a church  on  Rock  street,  the  latter  on  Independence  street,  and  since  these organizations  disbanded  a  large  proportion  of  their  membership  has  again become  connected  with  the  Congregational  church,  which  is  the  only  Welsh organization  at  Shamokin  at  the  present  time.